Gimme some food!

Weaning is one crazy but amazing ride in motherhood. For those who are oblivious of what I’m taking about, weaning is when the baby is ready to eat solid food. Now this does not mean you shove a huge piece of ugali down their throat! It’s a process – a slow but sure process.

Courtesy of newtimes.co.rw
Courtesy of newtimes.co.rw

There are so many myths and misconceptions about weaning. Trust me, I’ve heard it all! At 2 months, an aunt wanted me to feed my daughter porridge. Yeah, TWO months! Now many of you may ask, “What’s the problem? My mama fed me immediately I was born and I turned out fine!” Well, times are different now. I don’t want to get to a whole medical, traditional/cultural debate about this – but doctors recommend that you exclusively breastfeed for six months then introduce solid food. Note: Breastfeeding does not stop once you start weaning.

Courtesy of babycentre.co.uk
Courtesy of babycentre.co.uk

I was on K24 recently – yeah, they’re starting to like me alot these days – maybe I should just call myself an expert. Mmhhhh….nah! I digress! I shared my experience on weaning my daughter. If you missed it, watch it here.

For those about to wean or need tips, consult with your paediatrician/nutritionist/clinic.

Leave a Reply

