When pregnancy is not so pleasant (Hyperemesis Gravidarum)

A Facebook friend of mine (Judy) is undergoing a tough time. She’s expecting her second born. Yes, she should be happy. And she is. But her pregnancy is not going the way she’d want it.

I remember my first trimester in pregnancy was dreadful. Morning sickness, nausea, diarrhoea – were part of my days. But it doesn’t even come close to the pain my friend is going through. She has Hyperemesis Gravidarum – otherwise known as HG. It’s like morning sickness on steroids! This means she can’t keep any food down. And it could prove detrimental to her and baby.

HG
Courtesy of kidshealth.org

Despite the pain, long hospital stays and sheer exhaustion, she maintains a positive spirit. This is the second time she’s going through HG. And she says her first was worse – probably because she’s receiving better treatment in Denmark (where she lives) than in Kenya. She documented her stay in hospital on Instagram, and it’s the little things that brought her so much joy and removed her from her pain – albeit a while.

I dedicate this post to Judy and all women suffering from HG.

For your strength in times of great weakness. For your joy in times of great pain. For your outlook on life – and that of your baby – and holding on to the day you’ll hold him/her in your arms. For holding your head up high, despite having a feeding tube through your nose. For reminding us that life is from God, and we shouldn’t take it for granted. For being great mothers…..I salute you!

Courtesy of beckylamb.com
Courtesy of beckylamb.com
2 thoughts on “When pregnancy is not so pleasant (Hyperemesis Gravidarum)

  1. Reblogged this on Navarro Notes and commented:
    My granddaughter has this and it can be difficult for some to understand. I was one of those who flourished during my pregnancies (I remember feeling nauseous 1 time during my 1st pregnancy; not at all during my other 3). Feeling miserable during the pregnancy does not mean she (& others who suffer) do not love and eagerly await their child. There are few things I am absolutely positive about, but one is how much Cait loves and looks forward to holding Audrey Nicole in her arms.
    We are looking forward to both the blessing of Audrey being here and the cessation of Cait’s symptoms. I truly admire the woman of strength she has become as I read and learn more about what she is going through.

Leave a Reply

