Say hello to my littu friend

10th November 2016. 9:16am. Weighing in at 3.7kg, our heavyweight champ arrived. First look at him and I was like ‘Woah! He has chubby cheeks!’ No wonder I was feeling heavy all through my pregnancy. This boy wasn’t messing around when he got me craving all sorts of food 😀

It’s been one month and to be honest, second time is much easier. You know what to do since you’ve ‘been there, done that’. Though there are a few instances you forget what it was like – like growth spurts. That’s a story for another day though.

Many have asked about my birth experience – was it a VBAC (Vaginal Birth after C-Section) or another C-Section? I was all for a VBAC this time round. I wanted a different experience all through labour and post-delivery. During my ANC visits, the doctors would give me a long list of the pros and cons of a VBAC and that’s when I decided to open my mind to whatever outcome.

I had anxieties several months before the birth which is per. I decided to settle on an elective CS just to minimize any risks. As I got closer to the date, I worried if labour would kick in early and I would end up with a VBAC after all. I decided to leave all my fears and worries at the feet of Jesus. Isaiah 41:10 was the word I held on to every day.

isaiah
Courtesy of MyBible.com

I’d been praying all through my pregnancy but once I checked into labour ward, I prayed harder than before. Telling God to calm my fears since my first CS experience was not the best. As I got wheeled into theatre the next morning, I had this peace come over me. I wasn’t scared any more. The surgical team was great – and kept me entertained all through with their jokes and encouraging words. And when my prince Xander got out, I was a ball of emotions! I cried wept when I heard his cry and broke out in thanksgiving to God. One of the nurses was kind enough to hold my hand as I cried telling me it was okay to let it all out – a healthy and strong baby is a miracle! Equally, a healthy and strong mother is a miracle too.

Later I found out that he had the cord around his neck twice, which clearly would have ruled out any possibility of a VBAC. All I can say is, it was all God!

2 thoughts on “Say hello to my littu friend

  1. Daisy

    Congratulations Carol! Can you believe I tried a VBAC… didn’t work out and despite the pain (wah!) I am happy I gave it a shot. Yes second time is so much better…. All the best!

Leave a Reply

